3.1.1 - MenusThis page details all the available menu options in Project: Merge. Menu items with shortcut keys listed can also be activated by pressing those key combinations on the keyboard.
It should be noted that some of the commands discussed here are also available on the Toolbar.
Displays the Open Dialog. If you select OK a new comparison or merge operation will be started. You will be prompted to save any changes if the current session is a merge operation with unsaved changes.
Instructs Project: Merge to reload the currently loaded files. You will be prompted to save any unsaved merge changes before the files are reloaded.
Saves the results of the current merge operation. If Project: Merge does not have a filename for the current merge operation, you will be prompted to select a destination file.
Prompts you to select a destination file and then saves the results of the current merge operation to that file.
Prompts you to select a destination file and then generates a report containing information regarding the status of the current operation.
Quits Project: Merge. You will be prompted to save any unsaved changes if you are currently merging files.
Edit and Context Menus
Reverts the previous edit action. All edit actions from when the documents were opened can be undone. It should be noted that you can only edit the XML files when merging.
Re-applies a previously reverted edit action.
One of the child menu items of this menu item selects a different source file to contribute to the output file. These options are only available when merging files, and only when a difference or conflict block is highlighted.
The child options of this menu item cuts (copies and then deletes) either the selected text or the selected XML nodes.
Copies the selection (or the current line if there is no selection) to the clipboard. Two copies will be made, firstly the selected text as indicated by the inverted colours, and secondly the surrounding XML nodes as shown by the dark grey background.
The child options of this menu item paste previously copied text or XML nodes to the current caret location. Any selection will be replaced by the pasted data.
The child options of this menu item delete either text or whole XML nodes. As with other edit options, these are only available when merging XML files.
Selects all the text. The selection will start at the first character on the first line, and will end at the end of the last line. The caret will be placed at the end of the selection.
Displays the Preferences Dialog. From here you can change display options for Project: Merge, view and change licence information, check for updates, and edit XML file format specifications.
This option is only available on the right-click context menu for the main view. It displays the Preferences Dialog with the format specification settings for the element that was clicked over selected. The ... will contain the name of the element that was clicked on.
Hides or shows the Toolbar. By default the Toolbar is visible.
Hides or shows the Overview Pane. By default the Overview Pane is displayed.
Highlights the previous difference or conflict between the XML files.
Navigates to and highlights the next difference between the XML files.
When merging, this option will highlight and display the previous conflict between the XML files.
This option will highlight the next conflict between the XML files.
Displays the Search Dialog. From there you can enter text to search for within the loaded XML files.
Searches backwards for the previous occurance of the search text entered in the Search Dialog. When the start of the files is reached, the search will continue backwards from the end.
Searches forwards for the next occurance of the text entered in the Search Dialog. When the end of the files is reached, the search will continue from the start until the current location is reached.
Project: Merge Website
Opens the main page of the Project: Merge website in your web browser.
Opens the support page of the Project: Merge website in your web browser.
About Project: Merge
Displays the About Dialog. This dialog contains copyright notices and version information for the copy of Project: Merge you are running.